Skip to content

In For Repairs

June 4, 2017

No, not the 5th wheel. I’m the one going into the shop.  As stated before, our heavy RV travelling has been curtailed because of some health issues. Now it turns out that, while Nell’s body continues to recuperate from multiple surgeries  in the last year or so, I have some parts that need attention. I’ve been dealing with increasing shortness of breath over several months, and the cardiologist has been running tests related to atrial fibrillation. It finally has been determined that my mitral valve is the real culprit. So…

Tomorrow I have a heart catheter procedure in preparation for open heart surgery on Friday (June 9th). The heart catheter is to determine if there are any other complications that need to be addressed while the surgeon is working on my heart. I already know he plans to do a maze procedure to deal with the afib.  And, since we know I have a minor blockage, it wouldn’t surprise me if I end up with some bypass work. The surgeon’s view is “if we’re fixing things, let’s go ahead and fix everything while we’re in there.”

I agree completely.

Safe travels.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2017 7:58 pm

    I hope all goes well Ralph, see you back here soon.

  2. Richard Secor permalink
    June 4, 2017 9:27 pm

    You are in my thoughts and prayers Ralph.

  3. June 4, 2017 9:31 pm

    I like your doctor’s thinking. Get yourself all fixed, we’ll be waiting for the good news!

Leave a Reply

