Skip to content

A Slightly Different Focus

November 17, 2016
1117161322c-cropped-900

Kentucky Barn, 5×7, Gouache

I’ve let this blog sit for several months because I didn’t quite know what to do with it. Its original purpose was to chronicle our RV travels, but travel in an RV has been put on an indefinite Hold. While we do still live in an RV (our 36 foot Montana fifth wheel) it is parked as a home base and we don’t travel in it. We are back to being like everybody else in that our travelling is now done in our car. When I look at our Facebook friends, I’ve realized that many of them travel much more than we do. A variety of issues hold us at home now far more than we had intended. But we do find ourselves exploring, even if it’s closer to home.

It occurs to me that another purpose for this blog was to chronicle our travels and explorations through art. Yes, I do have an art blog, but that has always been for sharing the variety of work that I do, and to share materials and methods. This blog, Back Roads & Brushes, was meant to be more of a “places” thing, truly intended to share local color, wherever we might go.  Besides, I think the title is kind of cool and I hate to give it up. So, here I go again, brainstorming and finding new directions.

11131611092copped-900

Kentucky, Along I-65

The ink & watercolor sketches and drawings that follow the Urban Sketching genre have become one of my favorite forms of expression. Much of what I do could more properly be called Rural Sketching, since old barns and unique houses are most often my subjects. We are presently in Ohio, and will be here for a while. I’m developing sketches from photos taken while on the road, and I’m sure there will b quite a few from our time here.

 

I’ll see if I can breathe some life back into this blog with more of a “where have we been” focus and less of the RV part. Bear with me while I try to chart a slightly different course. We’ll see where it goes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2016 8:57 pm

    I have always admired this blog and the way you manage to create art wherever you are. I hope you keep it up.

    • November 17, 2016 10:27 pm

      Hi Doug. I hadn’t thought of it that way. Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. November 17, 2016 10:03 pm

    good to hear from you again.

  3. November 17, 2016 10:45 pm

    Very nice work!!!!

  4. Gary Bailey permalink
    November 18, 2016 9:10 pm

    Good to hear from you. Your color sketch looks very much like my uncle Rube’s barn across the Ohio river in rural Beech Grove, W.Va. Hope all is well.

    • November 19, 2016 7:02 pm

      Hi Gary. This was from a recent photo and it’s been quite a while since we passed through W.Va, so definitely not there. Good to hear from you. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

