Skip to content

Art & Travel

April 10, 2016

bakery cafe at700

I’ve been experimenting with a  way to record our travels – and places we’ve been – by using sketches in addition to – and sometimes instead of – photographs.  The  Bakery Café is in Aransas Pass, Texas. We spent two winters just up the highway in Rockport, and on several occasions, had breakfast here. It’s a typical town square café with a few stools at a counter as well as tables and chairs. You may be sitting at a table next to a family of tourists or a couple of fishermen. The food was tasty with good portions, and the service was great.

I’d be curious to hear how you feel about seeing sketches such as this here on the blog.

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2016 6:30 pm

    I think it is a great way to record your trip, I always sketch when we go on holiday.

    • April 13, 2016 2:09 pm

      Thanks, Doug. I’ve seen some of your travel sketches. Fun to look at. Although how you do that from a moving train I’ll never understand.

  2. April 10, 2016 7:42 pm

    Wonderful work – I think these are great on your blog – awesome idea to record your travels!

  3. April 10, 2016 7:53 pm

    It makes me feel like I am there with you. Glad to hear from you. Syd

    • April 13, 2016 2:12 pm

      Thanks, Syd. I decided I didn’t have to wait until we traveled in the RV to post things we’ve done. Besides, I’ve missed hearing from some of you.

  4. Mikkimikki@comcast.net permalink
    April 10, 2016 11:53 pm

    I love the sketch.

  5. April 11, 2016 2:23 am

    It’s lovely, and shows us what you see, which can differ from what the camera captures. More, please 🙂

  6. February 9, 2017 4:58 am

    I’m eager for a visual update on your travel views? Love your works.

  7. Geoff Heath permalink
    April 8, 2017 11:14 am

    hi, we live on the north west coast of England. I sketch and we caravan up and down England in a 25 ft. single axle ‘van. Small stuff compared to you. I love your work your writing and story telling. You do what I do but in a more controlled way. I doodle. Oils are my love but so is a ball point pen. Keep doing what you do and keep telling the world. Best wishes to you and yours.
    Geoff.

    • April 8, 2017 9:52 pm

      Thanks, Geoff! Nice to hear from you! I would think sketching the English coast would require a stop every mile or so.

Leave a Reply

