Skip to content

The Guardian

March 23, 2012

The Guardian, 8x10, Gouache (Plein Air)

Woodland Lakes RV Park, Conroe/Woodlands, Texas

This pond is the one with the little fishing deck out over the water, just across a driveway from our site.  It has this tall tree standing watch over one end of it.  The water is a little high at that point, I think, presumably because of all the heavy rain we’ve had in the past week or so.

In order to improve my plein air (outdoor) painting abilities, I’ve started trying to paint out on location twice a day, once in the morning, and again in the evening.  Late yesterday, I set up the easel with this tree across the pond from me.  I tried to get most of the painting done in time for the sun to start dropping below the trees behind me, anticipating the light on the upper branches, and on the tops of the pine trees in the background, witha long shadow down below.

I’m happy with it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Gordon permalink
    March 23, 2012 8:10 pm

    It’s really beautiful, Ralph…you should be very happy with it!

  2. William R Moore permalink
    March 23, 2012 10:26 pm

    Ralph,
    You have really been making good use of your new location. I think you have been making silk purses out of sow’s ears.

    Been wondering how the traffic has been for Nell’s drive to work. I know 45 can be difficult. Not sure about east toward the airport.

    • March 23, 2012 10:44 pm

      William, I’m trying to just think of it as practice… all part of the learning process. I still want everything I do to be the best I can do, but it just doesn’t always happen. I’m trying to accept that and just have fun doing what I’m doing. I’m learning to accept that it probably really doesn’t matter what I paint, as long as I paint.

      Nell says the commute isn’t bad, about 30-40 minutes, long enough to decompress from the day. She’s got one more week. We’re going to stay here an extra week to get some things done after she retires, then on to Galveston on Easter Sunday. She’s really ready to watch and listen to the waves.

      • William R Moore permalink
        March 24, 2012 8:17 pm

        I imagine Galveston will be packed Easter.

      • March 25, 2012 1:21 pm

        We’re actually going a week later than we intended. I originally booked us into the State Park there at the first of April. But we would have had to leave for one day, Easter Sunday, because it was already fully booked. So we decided to hang out in Conroe for an extra week, and our reservation now has us arriving on that day. The Texas Parks & Wildlife folks said it will start clearing out during the day, and check-in time is 2pm. We’ll get there during the late morning, and try to reserve a spot, then just hang out until the crowd starts to clear out.

Leave a Reply

