Skip to content

Woodland Lake

February 28, 2012

Woodland Lake, 9x12, Gouache

The weather was a bit misty and damp again this morning, so I worked inside again.  I did this from a reference photo I took the day we arrived.  Yesterday, on a misty, drizzly day, I did the little piece below while looking out the front window of the motorhome, across the lake:

Park Bench, 5x7, Gouache

While this wasn’t actually painted outdoors, it was painted directly from the scene out the front window.  I feel terribly stiff and not terribly confident at the moment, just because I haven’t painted in a while.  I think it’s been about two weeks since I used a paint brush for doing an actual painting.  So, after warming up yesterday with the little painting of the park bench and two other little ones that I won’t post, I felt the need to paint a bit larger today.

The beginning

This was the starting point.  After blocking in the composition with a yellow ochre brush line sketch, I scrubbed in the basic color masses.  Sometimes this is the most fun part of the painting process.  Loose and free, with no worries about mistakes.

In progress

I find it interesting that when I paint plein air, I feel rushed, and rarely do work that I feel good about.  When I paint from a reference photo, I don’t feel the same pressure to hurry, yet I still work fairly quickly and seem to get a better result.  Feel free to explain that to me.

This image is kind of fun to look at, because you can see a little of the progression and thought process where color is concerned.  I established the values in the very first, beginning stage, but at this stage, I’m putting colors down and letting them mix a little.

Final ~ Woodland Lake, 9x12

 And then on to the finish.  I rarely look at a painting at this stage without seeing things I’d like to do better.  It’s also rare for me to actually go back and change very much.  I’ve overworked so many paintings by saying, “…maybe I’ll just do this…”.  Besides, I have a feeling this view may get painted again, since we’ll be in this spot for several weeks.  I’d like to actually paint it outdoors, with sunshine.

For now, this is a start.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 1:08 am

    And a very healthy start. I’d say your painting journey has begun.

  2. February 29, 2012 12:39 pm

    Thanks Dianne. I value your opinion, so I appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

