Skip to content

A Logistical Challenge

November 10, 2011

Artists come with a lot of baggage.

And this isn’t all of it.  Keep in mind, I’ve already been through this stuff a couple of times.  It’s just time to go through it again.  There are two more large tubs, like the bottom two on the right in this photo,  still loaded in the cargo trailer… full of framed paintings, and another smaller one filled with small paintings.  And there are more frames, and other items in the garage.  It can’t all go,  of course, at least not in its present form.  But this is the first time most of it has been pulled together in one spot.  There’s some serious soul-searching and hard, tough-love decisions that have to be made now.  I’m fortunate, though.  What I have here is nothing… nothing… compared to what many of my artist friends have accumulated in studios they’ve used for years… rooms or spaces that were dedicated strictly to their art.  Since my studio was a space that had to be ready for conversion on short notice to grandkids’ play and sleeping quarters, I actually have very little here.

But that doesn’t change the fact that all of this, and more, has to be whittled down to fit in the motorhome, along with all the things we will need for day-to-day living.

And, then there are the books… and the palette and the brushes.  And you know this isn’t all of the books.

And let’s not forget the show equipment, all the stuff we carry now in the cargo trailer… all the things required to set up a booth, a little mini art gallery, on a parking lot or town square or city park.  The tent… the display panels, tables, chairs, and all the hardware that goes with it.  This, of course, is why we ended up with a Class A motorhome, with all the basement storage compartments.  The EZ-Up tent will go in a narrow pass-thru.  There’s a wider pass-thru that will take the display panels.  The largest tubs of art and spare frames, along with tables and chairs will go below as well.

But I’ve really got to start consolidating stuff.  And deciding what I can live without.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2011 9:11 pm

    I have been reading your blog with great interest! You can pared everything down…:) I live in a semi-truck with the hubby who drives full time right now. I have my painting supplies… I paint, crochet and read. Now you KNOW I have far less space in a semi than you will in your RV… LOL, that would be heaven right now!

    Granted I don’t have the “show stuff”… no time or room for that of course, but it works right now. I paint watercolors only and it has been just recently that I decided I “Could” paint while on the road with the hubby. Our schedule is very demanding so my painting time is very limited.

    My point is… if I can live and paint in a semi-truck you can do it in an RV!!! Piece of cake. 🙂

    And letting go of “stuff”… is very liberating. And what you can’t can go into a storage unit for a while. You will be amazed at how little you really, really need. 🙂

    Good luck… I’ll be reading!

    Dabs
    Postcards From The Road
    http://www.artbydabs.com

    • November 10, 2011 9:16 pm

      Now THAT’s encouragement! Dabs, it’s so nice to hear from you. And Thanks!

  2. November 14, 2011 4:29 am

    I think those books are going to get left behind Ralph…heavy. I can’t imagine trying to cram all of my art stuff to go with me on the road….just way too much stuff to lug around. I’d start with easel, paints, canvas and then start adding what else HAS to go with me…of course that’s where the problems start, hahaha. Good luck with your decisions Ralph.

    • November 14, 2011 12:42 pm

      Ron, there are obviously still a lot of tough decisions to be made. You’re probably right about the books. I may have to just rely on what I can get online and on my own intuition. Maybe that’s not so bad. I’m also thinking it doesn’t make sense to carry a lot of empty frames with us. It’s just that, even though they’re not expensive frames, getting rid of them is very, very difficult. I’m still fighting that “just in case” sydrome. Thanks for the good advice, my friend.

Leave a Reply

